Back To Brewing

After about a 6 month hiatus, I’ve decided to get back to brewing.  Finally.  I haven’t brewed since I move to CT, and I’m really excited to get my hands suddsy from being arm-deep in beer.

I put off brewing for a couple of reasons, some of which are valid, and some of which are just me being ridiculous.  My main motivation for not brewing over the winter months was the temperature in my apartment.  I have oil heat at my place, and I’ve never had the wallet-prying pleasure of paying for lovely utility before.  That first $300 heating bill was an eye opener, and I probably over reacted to it.

To keep costs down, I kept my heat around 60 degrees for the whole winter.  Yeah, I know, I’m nuts.  I was only able to make it through thanks to a bunch of blankets and my trusty Snuggie (for real – it’s blue.)

Keeping my apartment just above ice-box level didn’t really make for ideal fermentation conditions.  I found out later there are some beer recipes where this is temperature would work, but I didn’t want to risk it.  Plus, with how unpredictable the heating bill was, I just felt it was best to take a bit of a break.

The motivation for getting back into brewing was the discovery of Brew York on Twitter.  Brew York is a collection of home brewers, beer bloggers, beer reviewers, and just plain old beer fanatics around the New York City area.  Needless to say, these were my people.  And boy, do these guys know their beer – almost to an intimidating level.  Luckily, they’re some of the most humble and supportive people I’ve ever met, and are more than willing to support a brotha in his quest to learn how to make quality beer at home.  Check them out here: http://twitter.com/Hoptopia/brewyorkers

The more I started talking about beer with them, the more the brewing itch grew.  Finally, once the weather started turning warmer, I decided it was time scratch that itch and get back to brewing.  Kim, my girlfriend who has to put up with all of this beer talk, got me a Sierra Nevada Porter clone kit for Christmas, and I brewed that up last week.

And in light of this new-found brew culture I create this website to write about my experiences with brewing, starting with the Sierra Nevada Clone I brewed last week.  I might even try my hand at writing a beer review or 2, as I’m always seeking out new and different beers while expanding my tasting palate.

So be sure to check back and hear all about my adventures in home brewing and journeys to the bottom a few bottles of crazy brews.

Leave a Reply

