Porter on the Move

If you haven’t noticed by now, my posts have been on the chronological short bus. I started this blog about a week after I initially brewed my beer, and then life kept getting in the way of keeping this up to date.  I promise to do better in the future, and graduate my posts to a regular bus.

About 2 weeks ago, after the botched redecorating attempt, my airlock pretty much stopped popping, signaling fermentation had completed.  It was time to move my beer to the secondary glass carboy.  This is usually the the first taste a brewer gets of his creation, so I was excited to get going.

After cleaning and sanitizing my carboy, auto-siphon, and second airlock, I carefully removed my beer from it’s resting place in my closet and examined.  Because of the ridiculously active fermentation, I had a ton of krausen at the top of my beer.  The beer appeared to be a very dark brown in color.  I could be black, and the light carpet in my bedroom could be giving it an off color.  Either way, I thought this was a good sign – right in line with the style.  A good amount of yeast, protein and other solids had settled at the bottom of the fermenter.

Time to get a better look at my beer.  I took the airlock off the fermenter, and placed the siphon in my beer, with the other end going in my trusty Captain Lawrence pint glass. I got the siphon going, and filled the pint glass about half way.  I held up my creation to examine.  The color was the same inside the fermenter.  Raising the glass up to the light, the beer was cloudy and thick, and I couldn’t really see through it.  Again, all good signs since this is a porter and its due to spend another week or so clarifying.  I held it up to my nose and took a smell.  It was a nice, dark, rich smell, right on par with porters.

Now, the moment of truth.  I raise the glass to my lips and took a sip.  Low and behold, it tasted like beer!  I’m always amazed by this, that I can make a beer and have it taste like beer, and not some sort of back-country moonshine.  The flavor was dark, rich and malty, and the texture was a bit syrupy.  It was extremely smooth, which I think is a combination of the style and the fact the beer isn’t carbonated yet.  Everything seemed to be right on with what it should be.  I did a little happy dance.

I finished siphoning the beer over to the secondary carboy, popped on the airlock, and moved it back into the closet to clarify.  It will be there for a week or 2 as more yeast, protein and other solids settle out of it.  Next it will be ready to bottle, and soon it will be ready to drink.

Keep your fingers crossed – I might have a winner on my hands!

2 thoughts on “Porter on the Move

  1. Pingback: Putting Lids On The Porter « River Crew Brewing Company

  2. Pingback: First Taste Test of the Sierra Nevada Porter Clone FTW! « River Crew Brewing Company

Leave a Reply

