First Taste Test of the Sierra Nevada Porter Clone FTW!

So you know how I mentioned my posts are riding the chronological short bus? Yeah, they haven’t graduated yet.

A little over a week ago, I got my first taste of my Porter out of the bottle. It spent about a week carbonating in the bottle, so I wanted to see how it was progressing.

I’m happy to say – it’s doing really well! The beer poured darker than I remember. It was a really rich brown, almost black. Its darkness made it tough to see though, but you could tell it wasn’t cloudy, which made me happy. It didn’t have much of a head on it, barely a centimeter or so. I’m not too worried though, as this will change as it spends more time in the bottle.

The carbonation helped bring out some of the aromatics and flavors in my beer. I could really taste the roasted malt and other dark flavors as the tiny bubbles danced across my tongue. It finished perfectly crisp, with an extremely subtle aftertaste that left those a bit of the richness behind.

So – so far, so good! I’m excited to see how this beer changes with another week in the bottle, and can’t wait till it’s finished.

One thought on “First Taste Test of the Sierra Nevada Porter Clone FTW!

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention First Taste Test of the Sierra Nevada Porter Clone FTW! « River Crew Brewing Company -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

