The Search For My Next Homebrew Recipe

The search for my next homebrew is on.  I’m a bit conflicted, and I’m hoping my friends on the interwebs can help.

At first, I wanted to do a really solid Pale Ale.  I love Sierra Nevada, and I was eying up the clone Midwest Brewing Supply has on their website.  However, the higher the temperature rose, the more my tastes were swayed.

What I’m looking for now is a really solid Summer Ale.  I’ve had a few over the last few weeks: Brooklyn’s Sorachi Ace, Flying Dog’s Tire Bite Golden Ale, River Horse’s Summer Ale, and Stoudt’s Kolsh.  Now I’m hooked.

I’d love to find a recipe for an easy-drinking summer ale.  Something light, crisp and refreshing.  I really loved Flying Dog’s Tire Bite, because it drank really crisp, but left just enough hops to satisfy the hop-head in me.

Keep in mind – I’m still an extract brewer.  I have yet to graduate to the full grain styles some of my homebrew mentors have practiced for many years.  I feel like I’m evolving towards that, but I’m still a year or so away from all-grain brewing.

So I open up my forum (and my brew pot) to you, my homebrew and craft beer friends.  Do you know of any homebrew recipes for a great, easy-drinking Summer Ale?  Let me know in the comment.

You just may be immortalize through a name for my brew.

3 thoughts on “The Search For My Next Homebrew Recipe

  1. Hard to go wrong with a Hefeweizen for the summertime. I brewed up an extract Hefe kit for my second batch a few months back, and amped it up with 1.5lb of honey. It was simple to make, easy-drinkin… and everyone loved it.

    • Sounds tasty man. I’m not normally a fan of Hefes because the yeast is a bit overpowering to me. I think your addition of the honey is a good one, and I’ll have to keep that in mind for a future recipe.

  2. Pingback: And My Next Recipe Is… « River Crew Brewing Company

Leave a Reply

