And My Next Recipe Is…

…not exactly what I thought it would be.

If you remember back, I was looking for more of a summer-style beer.  An  easy-drinking beer for those hot summer days.  Something along the lines of a Golden Ale, Summer Ale or Wheat Ale.

I’m happy to say I found a great recipe for that brew.  One a great homebrewer passed along to me.  I’m really excited to brew it and see how it comes out.

However, amid all the changes in my life lately, I forgot to actually get the ingredients to brew this recipe.  I wanted to brew this coming weekend, and I didn’t get a chance to order the ingredients from where my source recommended. But instead of skipping it altogether, I decided to put that recipe on hold for now and pick up something I could make this weekend.

There’s a few styles I want to do.  I’m looking to get a few solid base recipes under my belt before I start modifying and experimenting with them.  The one that stands out the most is a Pale Ale.  I love this style of beer – it’s just the right amount of hops hinting out from a nice malt base.  It’s what got me into craft beers, and I definitely want to create my own recipe.

With this in mind, I swung by my local homebrew store, Maltose Express in Monroe, CT.  Their owners have published a few recipe books on brewing, so I knew they’d have a good recommendation for me.

I thumbed through the books they had there and explained my situation to the guy working there.  As he was going through some recipes he liked, I scanned some of their clone kits they had pre-assembled.  I got the kit for Timmy’s Polarize Porter (Sierra Nevada Porter Clone) there, so I knew their kits were good.

After a few seconds of looking, my eyes landed on a Flying Dog Doggie Style Pale Ale clone.

Sold.

I love this beer.  I think it’s one of the best examples of the style out there.  It’s hoppy to a point, and it doesn’t over do it.  It gives me my hops fix in a beer I could drink all night.  It’s exactly what I was looking for in my next brew.

I’m definitely stoked to brew this one.  I still think it’s really cool I can create something similar to a beer I really enjoy.  I have some high hopes for this kit, and I’m hoping my beer-making skills can live up to them.  Can’t wait to get started on Sunday!

One thought on “And My Next Recipe Is…

  1. Pingback: Every Dog Has It’s Day – Brewing My Flying Dog Doggie Style Pale Ale Clone « River Crew Brewing Company

Leave a Reply

