Every Dog Has It’s Day – Brewing My Flying Dog Doggie Style Pale Ale Clone

The Boil - How Sweet It Is

The Boil - How Sweet It Is

(Okay, so I really brewed this 2 weeks ago, but bear with me…)

Riding a beer high (or is it a beer drunk) from #BrewYork 5, I rolled up my sleeve and got down to brewing my next beer – a clone of Flying Dog’s Doggie Style Pale Ale.

As I said before, I’m really excited for this beer.  It’s one of my favorites, so seeing what comes in the kit was pretty cool.

The first thing that struck me is there’s not a lot of pure malt in this beer.  It’s the least amount of malt I’ve used to date.  A lot of the fermentable sugars come from the dry malt extract, malt syrup and maltodextrine.  I’m hoping the malt flavor comes through in the final product.

But this beer isn’t about the malt flavor, it’s about the hops.  And boy, there are hops.  Northern Brewer, Cascade and and Centennial hops are all used in varying amounts and time schedules for this beer.  It’s definitely the most hops I’ve ever used.  It even includes a healthy dose of dry-hoping – another first for me.  I’m in hop heaven!

The brewing process was by the books, with no major hiccups to screw ups on my part.  I modified the process they recommended for this beer a little bit though.  I sparged with more water than they recommended so I could be sure to get all the great flavors and sugars from the limited grains included.

The other minor speed-bump I hit was a ran out of hop bags, so I had to add the last addition of hops free into the boil.  Not a huge mistake or flub, but it required a lot more clean up at the end.

I had a bit of trouble getting my temperature down to the right temperature to pitch my Wyeast Activator.  But after some time in my fridge with the airlock securely in place, I got the temperature down to proper levels and pitched my yeast.  The yeast party (aka fermentation) started in about 16 hours – a little slower than my last beer, but still perfectly fine.

I’m happy with this brew so far.  I’ve got high hopes and big plans for it (more on that soon), and I’m off to a good start so far.  I’m also very pleased the process went smoothly without any real hiccups.  My brewing skills are growing!

2 thoughts on “Every Dog Has It’s Day – Brewing My Flying Dog Doggie Style Pale Ale Clone

  1. Pingback: Bad Dog – Taking My Flying Dog Pale Ale Clone To Obedience School « River Crew Brewing Company

  2. Pingback: The Kegerator Project « River Crew Brewing Company

Leave a Reply

